Introducing the 2017 Shortlist

Introducing the 2017 Shortlist

Lumen's jury panel is delighted to announce the 2017 Shortlist. This year the Prize received more than 800 submissions from 43 countries, and the Lumen team would like to thank everyone who took the time to enter - the standard was extremly high. The winner of the 2017 Lumen Prize Gold Award and this year’s category awards will be announced at The Lumen Awards ceremony on September 20th at the Frontline Club, London. Come along and be among the very first to see who will be taking home a share of this year’s record US$11,750 in prize money. You can RSVP to the event here. 

The 2017 Shortlist includes:

Interactive Award

Europa, Mon Amour by Lawrence Lek (United Kingdom)

Rhythm by Biwei Niu (United States)

The Sand Letter by Seeeklab (China)

The Unfettered Language of Machines by Zheng Da (China)

Abstract Playground AP1 by Will Hurt (United Kingdom)

Plastic Reflectic by Thijs Biersteker (Netherlands)


3D / Sculpture Award

The Nemesis Machine by Stanza (United Kingdom)

Numina by Zarah Hussain (United Kingdom)

Snail Trail by Philipp Artus (Germany)

Reading Plan by Lien-cheng Wang(Taiwan)

Ad Infinitum by David Glicksman & Moses Journey (United States)


Moving Image Award

Exodus by Acci Baba (Germany)

Heroic Makers vs Heroic Land by Isabelle Arver (France)

Divisional Articulations by Max Hattler (Hong Kong)

Midtown Flutter by Yuge Zhou (United States)

Maybe We’ll Have Another Chance by Francois-Xavier de Costerd (United States)

Whisper Diving by Michael Tan & FaltyDL  (Germany)



Still Image Award

After Fabergé by Jonathan Monaghan (United States)

Cherry Blossom and Mountains by Damien Borowik (United Kingdom)

CICADA by Michael Pantuso (United States)

Dionysus by Fabrizio Augusto Poltronieri (Brazil)

The Physical Location of Every Byte on My Hard-Drive by Jeff Thompson (United States)

Block Bills by Matthias Dorfelt (United States)



VR/AR Award

Wikileaks: A Love Story by Anna Ridler (United Kingdom)

Terratic Animism by Jakob Kudsk Steensen (United States)

Nothing Happens by Michelle & Uri Kranot (Denmark)

Slide To Expose by Nicole Ruggiero, Molly Soda & Refrakt (United States)



Web-based Award

Colonise the Cloud by Gretta Louw (Germany)

Solace by Evan Boehm & Nexus Studios (Canada)

The Desire to Stay in the Sun by Fabio Dartizio (United Kingdom)

AVENUE by Nicolas Sassoon (Canada)

Cells by Wayne Madsen (United States)



Artificial Intelligence Award

Pulse Breath Water by Kıvanç Tatar, Mirjana Prpa, Philippe Pasquier and Bernhard Riecke (Canada)

FRANK - ARTificial intelligence by Cecilie Waagner Falkenstrøm (Denmark)

true/false by Onformative (Germany)



The Placemaking Special Commendation

The Storm by ITHACA (United Kingdom)

Ad Infinitum by David Glicksman & Moses Journey (United States)

Within by Hirsch&Mann (United Kingdom)