Introducing the 2017 Lumen Prize Jurors

By Charlotte Lee April 18, 2017

The deadline to submit to the 2017 Lumen Prize is fast approaching! That’s when our International Selectors’ Committee (ISC) begins the task of selecting this year’s Longlist before our Jury Panel take up the reins in August to select the recipients of the category awards and top prize. So, who are these wonderful people who have been appointed to select those works that are exceptional examples of digital art?

Introducing the ISC:

Irini Papadimitriou (@irini_mirena) is a curator, producer and cultural manager, working at the forefront of digital culture. As Digital Programmes Manager at the V&A Irini is responsible for the annual Digital Design Weekend, she is also Head of New Media Arts Development at Watermans, one of the UK’s leading venues for Digital/ New Media Arts with a long commitment in presenting innovative work as well as supporting emerging and established artists working with technology.

Janice Lane is Director of Gallery Development & Visitor Experience at the National Museum Wales, which manages seven museums across Wales. Janice leads on Exhibitions and Gallery development, Digital Media, and Visitor Experience across the museums.  She works internationally and is a member of the ICOM UK committee.

Carla Gannis (@carlagannis) is a New York-based artist and is currently a professor and assistant chairperson of The Department of Digital Arts at Pratt Institute. Her artistic work examines the narrativity of 21st century representational technologies and reveals the hybrid nature of identity; since 2003 her  work has appeared in numerous solo and group exhibitions both nationally and internationally. In 2016 Carla was awarded The Lumen Prize Founder’s Award for her ongoing project The Selfie Drawings. 

Kelani Nichole (@kelaninichole) is an independent curator and user-centered design specialist. She is the owner and director of TRANSFER, an exhibition space in NYC that explores the friction between networked studio practice and its physical instantiation.  The gallery supports artists working with computer-based practices to realise solo exhibitions, and travels internationally promoting new formats for exhibition and appreciation of contemporary art.

Alessio de Vecchi (@alessiodevecchi) has been working for over twelve years as an art director and cg artist in New York, Milan and Tokyo with clients like Adidas, Samsung, Nike, Citibank, La Prairie, Shiseido, H&M, Ferrero, Nestle’, Margiela, Deloitte, HBO, Green Cross, Cappellini. In addition, his creations have earned positive attention from Vogue Italia, I.D.Magazine, The Creators Project, Monitor, Icon, Frame. His work as a visual artist has been screened at Pause Fest 2015 in Melbourne and he was part of the Italian duo that won the 2016 Lumen Prize Gold Award for Hyperplanes of Simultaneity.

Ruth Catlow (@furtherfieldis an artist and co-founder of Furtherfield, an art-led platform for arts, technology and social change since 1996. As an artist, Ruth works and plays with emancipatory network cultures, practices and poetics to engender shared visions and new cultural infrastructures. Catlow has co-curated Furtherfield exhibition programmes since 2005 including Being Social, World Wild Web and Digital Zoo.

Andy Lomas is a digital artist and Emmy award winning supervisor of computer generated effects. In 2014 he won the Lumen Prize Gold Award with Cellular Forms and received an honorary mention from the jury at Ars Electronica.

Scott Draves (@scott_draves) is a pioneering software artist best known for creating the Electric Sheep a collective intelligence consisting of 450,000 computers that uses mathematics and genetic algorithms to create an infinite abstract animation. Electric Sheep won the 2015 Lumen Prize Founder’s Award.

Laurence Hill (@laurencehill) is director and head programmer for Brighton Digital Festival. The festival brings together arts and culture, digital business, the city’s two universities and the council for an annual, month-long, celebration and exploration of digital culture. Laurence is particularly interested in the subject of digital and ‘otherness’, which he is exploring through the festival programme and in his freelance work.

Keith Watson, a former gallery owner, is currently procurer/curator of digital and kinetic art from all over the world for Level39 and the Canary Wharf Winter Lights Festival.

James E. Marks (@jamesemarks) is the mastermind behind the #HackthePlanet virtual reality app, which was recently selected for the 20th annual Webby Awards. James is also the founder of the Immersive Arts Without Boundaries Festival #HACKSTOCK.

Melanie Lenz is Patric Prince Curator of Digital Art at London’s Victoria & Albert Museum; the institution that holds the UK’s national archive of digital art. Melanie has worked on a variety of contemporary art exhibitions and digital commissions; she was formerly Curatorial Fellow, Barbican Art Gallery (2006-2008).

Phil Dawson is the Head of Brand and Marketing for Leeds Dock where he is responsible for commissioning digital art. He has a background in design, communication & events, and has worked across multiple industries including music, hospitality, charity, fashion and media.

Genetic Moo (@GeneticMooare a UK based collaboration between Nicola Schauerman and Tim Pickup. Since 2008 they have been creating interactive art using computer code, graphics, sensors and projection.  In 2013 they received the Lumen Prize Founder’s Award and were selected for the ISEA2016 Open Sky Project in Hong Kong.

Katerina Athanasopoulou​ is a Greek-born artist living in London who creates animated films for cinema and gallery space. Katerina is particularly interested in the place where Animation and Architecture meet: through the use of 3D animation, she builds digital spaces, which the viewer traverses as imagined documentaries. In 2013 she won the 2013 Lumen Prize Gold Award for her film Apodemy.

The 2017 Jury Panel:

Douglas Dodds is Senior Curator at the Victoria & Albert Museum, Doug is responsible for developing the UK’s largest collection of digital art, from early computer art to recent born-digital works.

Foteini Aravani is the Digital Curator at the Museum of London where she develops the museum’s digital collecting activities and identifies opportunities for acquiring digital material to enhance and enrich the Museum’s collections.

Michael Takeo Magruder is an internationally recognised visual artist working with digital media whose projects have been showcased in over 250 exhibitions in 34 countries. Currently artist-in-residence at the British Library and winner of the 2015 Lumen Prize for Immersive Environments.

WeiWei Wang is Curator for the Museum of Contemporary Art (MoCA) Shanghai, WeiWei has curated numerous shows, most recently “Animamix Biennale 2015-2016”, as well as several projects for the museum’s projects space “MoCA Pavilion”. ​

Tessa Jackson OBE is a UK-based gallery director, curator and arts consultant; founding Artistic Director of Artes Mundi, Wales’ International Visual Art Exhibition & Prize and past CEO of Iniva, Institute of International Visual Arts, London.

Bruce Wands is Chair Emeritus of the New York School of Visual Arts MFA Computer Art Department. He is a widely-exhibited artist, author of Art of the Digital Age and Director of the New York Digital Salon.

Share this article